Brave Browser just summarily disabled an extension I’m using

Browser extension "Snoozz" disabled as no longer supported, with option to remove; declutters by snoozing tabs and windows, version 2.5.

I use the Snoozz extension to park browser tabs for later action. I also have some tab that I open at regular scheduled times to do things. So I rely on those tabs to pop up in a week or in a month’s time.

Obviously I have no way of recalling right now exactly which tabs they are, as that is why they are parked for later.

So imagine my extreme irritation this morning, when I find that Brave has just broken my workflow without any warning at all. The notice just says “The extension was turned off because it is no longer supported”. This is absolutely unacceptable because me as the user is not in control here. I should be given the choice to disable it, and when. This extension was not a security risk requiring any urgent action.

I have tried to see if I can toggle it back on, but no, I cannot override it. This is behaviour I expected of Microsoft, not Brave.

We know that uBlock Origin was not going to be supported any longer, and no data gets lost when that is disabled. But the Snoozz extension is a very different story.

Luckily AI did point me to a log file where the data could be extracted, so I have my snoozed tabs back, and I have them in another extension.

EDIT: Others have reported an identical message on non-Brave browsers so it seems the issue actually originates directly from the Google Chrome store.